Roughing It Respite

19 May

Cormac takes after me in just about every way…but not this one.  I hate camping.

If it’s not simply about my general dislike of being damp, cold, and having to pee in the woods, then it has to date back to a horrible girl scout camp experience, during which I offered my parents a year’s allowance to let me come home from Camp Wa-shaw-tee in Council Bluffs, Iowa.

Of course, maybe if I’d been able to camp in the comfort of my own home, while snoozing with my blankie, things could have been different.

I’m already calling it.  Dan does cub scouts.  (finger on side of nose)

3 Responses to “Roughing It Respite”

  1. mominrome May 19, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    this picture is hilarious! 🙂

  2. JD May 19, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    I HATED girl scout camp. What a friggin nightmare. I remember being so disgusted by the outhouses and the counselors told us everyone had to use them. Then a couple days later at the pool, I got lost in the building looking for someone – and stumbled upon REAL BATHROOMS. Stupid lying counselors. And I wrote my mom sad letters and asked her to come get me. And when she called the camp the director lied and said I was having fun. Can you tell I am still traumatized by this?

    • frazzledfoodie May 19, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

      That must be a girl scout party line, because my parents called to check on me after my pathetic letter and were told the same thing. I was part of this tent where the other girls picked on me from day one and were also noisy after bedtime, so we had to get up in our pajamas several nights and clean the latrines. Horrid.

So what do you think?

