Snooze and Lose

20 Oct

Well folks, it’s my birthday.  You know in When Harry Met Sally when Sally wails “And I’m going to be forty….some daaayyyy!”  That day is now just one year away for me. Where did my life go? How did I become older than the oldest age of the main characters in When Harry Met Sally? 

This all makes me feel like taking a nap.

Luckily for me, I got the most fabulous nap photos while Dan and the boys were baking my cake. Like any good father, Dan gave the boys the icing bowl to scrape, and they fell upon it like wolf pups, wielding beaters and rubber spatulas. You’d think this type of activity and its inevitable sugar rush would keep your children UP. We like to be different here.

All sugared out.

I actually witnessed this in action, but the camera battery was dead and I missed making a video of Cormac’s arm slowly dropping the spatula to the ground.  This happened in a matter of seconds, while Dan’s back was turned. William, ever the opportunist, was unfazed.

Hm. Guess this means I get it all?

Having a twitching, snoozing toddler next to him only seemed to fuel his desire to consume the last traces of frosting from the bowl.

You snooze, you lose, buddy.

Cormac’s sleeping expression makes it seem almost as if he KNOWS he has lost his remaining share of the bowl.

Eh. There will be other cakes.

William exacts his pound of flesh frosting for past insults from his brother.

I think you missed a spot, William.

Happy Birthday to Mom!

6 Responses to “Snooze and Lose”

  1. Ninja Mom October 20, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    They slay me! Falling asleep mid frosting binge? William has earned that bowl of scrape-able goodness simply by staying awake long enough to claim it. It’s a sleepy version of last man standing.

    Cromac’s sleeping face is pretty angelic.

  2. JD @ Momagement October 20, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Hey! You share a birthday with my Miss S. Who is gonna be 40 in 37 years. EEEEEEKS!

    Happy birthday and enjoy your cake!!!

  3. Let Me Start By Saying October 20, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    Happy! Happy! BIRTHDAY!!!

    Why the heck didn’t YOU get to lick the bowl?
    And where’s your nap?

  4. Abby October 21, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    Happy Birthday!
    I agree with Kim–you need cake and then a nap. Or nap and then cake. Either way, win-win!

  5. Allison at Motherhood, WTF? November 11, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    I’ve been delinquent in my blog reading. Happy belated birthday! Your boys are so dern cute. I can’t imagine falling asleep with cake batter in front of me!

    • Naps Happen November 11, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

      I know – that was a really good one, eh?

So what do you think?